How Much Does a Forklift Licence Cost in Brisbane? (2026)

Forklift licence Brisbane, October 2026: Brisbane forklift licence courses are advertised at $395 to $645. FMS Training at Lawnton, north Brisbane, is $499 weekday / $599 weekend: one day of training and a separate test day, both booked when you pay, and your first re-sit is free if you don’t pass. The WorkSafe Queensland licence fee of $113.41 is paid separately to WorkSafe by every student, whichever provider you choose.

Last updated: 4 November 2026

Brisbane provider type Advertised course fee Days Area
Lowest advertised provider (monthly special) $395 not stated east Brisbane
Discount multi-licence provider from $394 not stated south Brisbane
Three-day southside provider $450 3 south Brisbane
FMS Training (RTO 45189) $499 weekday / $599 weekend (first re-sit free) 2 (training day, then a separate test day, both booked at purchase) Lawnton, north Brisbane
National training group $500 (list price $695) not stated Brisbane
Three-day bayside provider $550 3 bayside Brisbane
Public provider $645 not stated Brisbane

Prices checked on provider websites on 6 October 2026 and change often. Every figure excludes the $113.41 WorkSafe Queensland licence application fee, which no provider can include.

In Brisbane, a forklift ticket — formally a forklift (Class LF) high-risk work licence — has two separate costs: the training and assessment course with a Registered Training Organisation — typically $395–$645 across Brisbane RTOs (October 2026) ($499 weekday or $599 weekend at FMS Training) — plus a one-off licence application fee of $113.41 (fee current for 2026–27, effective 1 July 2026) paid to WorkSafe Queensland. The licence fee is paid directly to WorkSafe Queensland — it is not paid to your training provider and is not part of the course price. Your LF licence is then valid for 5 years and recognised Australia-wide.

Ready to get qualified? FMS Training delivers the nationally recognised TLILIC0003 course at our Lawnton facility — see our Forklift Licence Brisbane course page for upcoming dates, pricing and exactly what’s included.

Key facts at a glance

  • Course (training + assessment): $499 weekday / $599 weekend at FMS Training, Lawnton, first re-sit free (Brisbane range $395–$645, checked 6 October 2026)
  • WorkSafe Queensland licence fee: $113.41 for a new licence (paid separately, once you pass)
  • Renewal fee (every 5 years): $102.99 — no retraining if renewed on time
  • Who you pay: the course fee to your training provider; the licence fee directly to WorkSafe Queensland
  • Licence validity: 5 years, recognised Australia-wide
  • You need: to be 18+, basic English, a USI (free), and 100 points of ID

What makes up the cost of a forklift licence?

People often confuse the course fee with the government licence fee. They are separate, and you pay them to two different places. Here is the full picture for 2026.

Cost item Paid to Typical 2026 amount Notes
Forklift (LF) training & assessment Your RTO (e.g. FMS Training) $499 weekday / $599 weekend at FMS Training (Brisbane range $395–$645, October 2026) Includes training, the formal assessment using the National Assessment Instrument, and your Statement of Attainment
New high-risk work licence application WorkSafe Queensland $113.41 Applied for online via WorkSafe Queensland within 60 days of passing; a government fee, not the RTO’s
USI (Unique Student Identifier) Australian Government Free Required before you can be issued a nationally recognised qualification; ~3 minutes to create online
Photo & ID You 100 points of ID Must be 18+ with basic English
Licence renewal (every 5 years) WorkSafe Queensland $102.99 No course or re-assessment if renewed before it expires

The FMS Training forklift licence course is $499 on a weekday or $599 on a weekend, including the training day and the separate test day, and your first re-sit is free if you don't pass. See the forklift course page for dates.

Are there any hidden or extra costs?

For most people, the course fee and the $113.41 licence fee are the whole story. At FMS Training, if you don't pass the test, your first re-sit is free, on a later test day. A few extras can apply: you’ll need enclosed footwear and any site-required personal protective equipment for the practical assessment, and if you don’t pass first time, some RTOs charge a re-assessment fee — another reason a properly delivered, unrushed course is worth more than the cheapest quote. Creating your USI is free, and FMS guides you through lodging your WorkSafe Queensland paperwork at no extra charge.

Why “cheap” forklift courses can be a false economy

A licence is only valid if the RTO is registered to deliver TLILIC0003 and assesses you properly using the National Assessment Instrument on a real forklift. A bargain price that rushes or skips proper face-to-face practical assessment can mean re-sitting later — or an employer questioning your competency on day one. When you compare quotes, check three things: that the training is nationally recognised, that the practical assessment is hands-on and in person, and that the RTO helps you lodge your licence application correctly.

How to get your forklift licence in Brisbane — step by step

  1. Check you’re eligible. You must be at least 18, have a basic command of English, and be able to provide 100 points of identification.
  2. Create your free USI. Set up your Unique Student Identifier online before the course — it takes about three minutes.
  3. Complete the TLILIC0003 course. Train and be assessed by a Registered Training Organisation. At FMS Training that is a training day, then a separate test day, both booked when you pay.
  4. Pass the assessment. You’ll be assessed with the National Assessment Instrument, including a practical test on a real forklift, and receive a nationally recognised Statement of Attainment.
  5. Lodge your licence application. Apply online through WorkSafe Queensland’s High Risk Work Licence Online Services within 60 days of passing — using the Candidate Assessment Summary your assessor issues and your Queensland Digital Identification (QDI) — and pay the $113.41 fee by card. Your photo licence card follows in the mail.

What to bring on assessment day

To keep your day smooth, bring your USI, 100 points of identification (for example a driver licence plus a Medicare or bank card), enclosed footwear, and any personal protective equipment your trainer asks for. Wear comfortable clothing suitable for operating a machine.

What does it cost to renew a forklift licence?

An LF licence lasts five years. If you renew on time (or within 12 months of expiry), you simply pay WorkSafe Queensland the $102.99 renewal fee — no course and no re-assessment. WorkSafe Queensland sends a renewal notice about 4–6 weeks before expiry. If your licence has lapsed for more than 12 months, you must retrain and be re-assessed with an RTO and apply for a new licence. We cover the full process in our forklift licence renewal guide.

Cost for individuals vs employers booking a group

If you’re an individual, you pay the course fee plus the one-off WorkSafe fee. Employers training several team members can often reduce the per-person cost with a group or on-site booking, and may be able to claim the training as a business expense. Either way, the WorkSafe licence fee is the same per person because each operator holds their own licence.

What’s included in the FMS forklift course?

FMS Training delivers the LF forklift licence course in person at our Lawnton facility in north Brisbane, with hands-on practical assessment, a nationally recognised Statement of Attainment, and guidance on lodging your WorkSafe Queensland application. We are a Registered Training Organisation (RTO 45189) with a 4.9-star Google rating. See our nationally recognised forklift course in Brisbane or call us to confirm the next available date.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a forklift licence cost in Brisbane in 2026?

At FMS Training in Lawnton the course is $499 weekday or $599 weekend. Across Brisbane, providers advertise $395 to $645 (October 2026). The licence itself is a separate $113.41 fee paid directly to WorkSafe Queensland, not to your training provider.

Is the WorkSafe Queensland fee included in the course price?

No. The $113.41 application fee is paid separately to WorkSafe Queensland when you apply online through their High Risk Work Licence Online Services, within 60 days of passing.

What does it cost if I fail the forklift test?

At FMS Training your first re-sit is free, on a later test day (bookings from 1 November 2026). Many providers charge a reassessment fee, so check before you book. The $113.41 WorkSafe Queensland fee is only paid once you pass.

How much is it to renew a forklift licence in Queensland?

$102.99, paid to WorkSafe Queensland, with no course or re-assessment if you renew on time. If it has lapsed more than 12 months you must retrain.

How long is a forklift licence valid?

Five years, and it is recognised Australia-wide.

How long does the course take?

At FMS Training, a training day, then a separate test day, both booked when you pay. You do the theory online before the course.

Do I need a licence to operate a forklift on private property?

If it is a workplace, yes — operating a forklift is high-risk work and requires an LF licence, even on private property.

Do I need a USI, and does it cost anything?

Yes, you need a free Unique Student Identifier before you can be issued the qualification. It takes about three minutes to create online.

Is a forklift licence tax deductible?

If the licence is required for your current job it may be deductible — check with your accountant. This is general information, not tax advice.